Blog Archives

Worlds Next Door: Table of Contents

Tehani Wessely has announced the table of contents for the forthcoming 12th Planet Press kids’ sf/f/h anthology, Worlds Next Door. http://editormum.livejournal.com/218142.html I’m fortunate enough to be sharing the table of contents with two of my Clarion South classmates, Angela Slatter

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in My Writing, Writing

Linkarama

Beware of Science Fiction http://wayoflife.org/files/2fd19aa02a25c87c4946a653a20f1344-486.html Jeff VanderMeer on Seven Points to Consider When Submitting Short Fiction http://booklifenow.com/2010/01/booklife-seven-points-to-consider-when-submitting-short-fiction/ 5 Lies Writers Believe About Editors http://www.jeremiahtolbert.com/2009/5-lies-writers-believe-about-editors/ Don’t Eat the Marshmallow…Yet Random Bizarre Photos from around the Japanese Interwebs http://qjphotos.wordpress.com/2010/01/05/random-bizarre-photos-from-around-the-japanese-interwebs/ 100 Games Cupcake

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Fun Links

Linkarama

Internet Review of Science Fiction Suspending Publication in 2010. I enjoyed reading the site and had two articles published there. http://irosf.com/news-item.qsml?id=220 Paul McAuley on depicting science in fiction http://unlikelyworlds.blogspot.com/2009/12/sciencefiction.html Weird Books http://www.abebooks.co.uk/books/weird/index.shtml Japan planned ‘karate ladies’ escort for Thatcher http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/politics/8433689.stm

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Fun Links

Linkarama

Learn to Let Go: How Success Killed Duke Nukem http://www.wired.com/magazine/2009/12/fail_duke_nukem/all/1 Phantom Menace Review The best (and longest) movie review I’ve ever encountered. http://www.slashfilm.com/2009/12/17/watch-this-70-minute-video-review-of-star-wars-the-phantom-menace/ Star Wars quotes in Japanese http://nihonshock.com/2009/12/star-wars-quotes-in-japanese/ Can tongue surgery improve English-speaking ability? http://www.japanprobe.com/2009/12/21/can-tongue-surgery-improve-english-speaking-ability/ Richard K Morgan on

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Fun Links

Linkarama

Trained-up ninja monkeys ‘turn on master’ http://news.ninemsn.com.au/entertainment/984812/trained-up-ninja-monkeys-turn-on-trainer Chinese opera face-changing http://www.reuters.com/article/video/idUSTRE5BA0I720091211?videoId=12268497 Coconut Collecting Octopus The Inexplicable Adventures Of “Zombie vs. Ninja” http://io9.com/5429240/the-inexplicable-adventures-of-zombie-vs-ninja Creepy Japanese Baby Simulator http://gizmodo.com/5429651/japanese-baby-simulator-is-1000-times-creepier-than-a-normal-baby Your Chance to buy a Japanese island previously used by the Imperial Navy

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Fun Links

Linkarama

Peter Watts, Canadian science fiction writer, beaten and arrested at US border http://www.boingboing.net/2009/12/11/dr-peter-watts-canad.html Ten Ways Space Travel Isn’t Like Television or the Movies http://www.satelliteinternet.com/news/ten-ways-space-travel-isnt-like-television-or-the-movies/ The Funniest Reasons Customers Reject Books http://www.publishersweekly.com/blog/660000266/post/210048821.html “I don’t do books about elephants set during the

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fun Links

Online Genre Magazines

A useful roundup of the best online genre magazines. http://www.jasonsanford.com/jason/2009/10/online-genre-magazines.html

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Writing, Writing Advice
April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930